C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Faults and Technical chat for the Toyota C-HR
Post Reply
Harrisdolly
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 6:54 am
Location: East Yorkshire

C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by Harrisdolly » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:25 pm

I have a excel with Navigation and DAB radio.

When the car starts up the dab radio does not work, can’t change channels.

Returned to dealer 4 times, blamed for putting dash cam.

Has anything happened like this to others, been like it since I bought new in March.

Completely lost faith in toyota

8F79277A-6EA8-4DCC-84B0-F360973F09E4.jpeg

Decuma Grey Hybrid excel
Ceramic sealed paint, with protection pack
DAB radio, sat nav


smartly
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:27 am
Location: Worcs.

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by smartly » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:38 pm

No, remove dashcam. Take it for a test drive and if it's still doing take it to another dealer ;)
2018 ( 68 ) Toyota C-HR 1.8 Hybrid in Nebula Blue, Dynamic with Premium Pack


User avatar
ans
Posts: 1695
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 6:26 pm
Location: East sussex. UK

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by ans » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:55 pm

the dealer will have logged it on the system but its worth a go to take it to another dealer
Toyota C-HR Dynamic Hybrid ,Metal Stream with Black roof.
Mudflaps,LED interior lights
with Chrome extras.
Wind deflectors,Running boards
Incar Wifi
Ordered SEPT 2016 arrived Jan 2017
https://www.chrforums.uk/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=965
Mercedes slk 350


Alexr
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:39 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by Alexr » Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:19 pm

I have a suspician my dashcam has affected the dab reception. I plan to do some tests to be sure.
All the best
Alex
------------------------
Loving driving my C-HR Excel Hybrid in Metal Stream :P


mjvdzwet
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 5:23 pm
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by mjvdzwet » Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:37 pm

All electronic transformers/drivers can cause DAB to fail. Because of the pulse width modulation used. It has to be perfectly shielded and shouldn't put any noise on the power line.

Others had it also with aftermarket led headlights.
Happy and fun driving... is driving a Toyota C-HR Hybrid Premium Metalstream Grey


Harrisdolly
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 6:54 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by Harrisdolly » Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:41 am

Yet again the Dealer is blaming me and my inability to use the DAD radio correctly.

Apparently this is by design, you must press the favourites button and then the List button to make it work and then back to favourites.

I just think Toyota are covering up the problem. They have tried everything and I’ve even sat in a another C-HR and it did the same.

Totally lost faith as my previous Auris DAB which is basically the same, worked fine and never had an issue.

Toyota must be feeling smug now, having tossed off another customer....
Decuma Grey Hybrid excel
Ceramic sealed paint, with protection pack
DAB radio, sat nav


User avatar
DutCHR
Posts: 449
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 4:39 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by DutCHR » Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:23 pm

Dash cam can interrupt the reception from DAB+, have read more problems with activated daschcam and DAB+.
Simple to test, swich off the dash cam and if your DAB is better then... thats the problem.

Also, there seems to be an Toyota TSB update about the DAB+ reception.. new antenna and some coils for wires.
No nice looking update, you will get new sticked DAB antenna on the inside of your windscreen and the DAB rception should be better.. no really known user info about it (because its very, very new update) but just to be sure... let your dealer register the issue about DAB and maybe the upate becomes available in UK also.
C-HR Hybrid Metalstream Grey --- JDM Style


Niggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:05 pm
Location: Northwest

Re: C-HR DAB Radio Fault

Post by Niggle » Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:53 pm

If the reception is better when dashcam disconnected you could reconnect dashcam but add ferrite surpressor cores to power supply line, suggest one at connection to car 12v supply and one near to camera power input. See attached photo just wrap power cable around a couple of turns on each.

CBBR6955-40.jpg



Post Reply

Return to “Faults & Technical”