Toyota C-HR Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All, I've been reading through the threads and it seems that 50mpg is " normal" for the 1.8 model.
I'm a sensible driver who drives within the limits but my best mpg is 46.
I'm using the EV mode and leave the air con on, other than that I can't see why mpg is on the low side? Any suggestions?
I've an Excel 1.8

·
Registered
75 Posts
Had my hybrid 6 weeks. Driven in all types of traffic from rush hour M25 to empty Motorway at 75mph for 70 miles.
I have my heating on auto and normally have at least 1 or 2 lights on with the heated seats plus heated rear window etc.

Worst I've seen is 53mpg best 70.3. Im averaging 57ish mpg. I always use the apaptive cruise control on M ways which helps I think as the car rearly comes to a complete stop.

The cold weather obviously doesn't help that's the same for all cars. If you Mpg has always been this way you may need to alter your driving style or get the car checked at the dealers.

Just my observations :D

·
Registered
97 Posts
I always leave the aircon switched on all year round just to make sure it works ok.
I haven't checked my mpg but I reckon its well over 50.
Unless there is something wrong, I think the mpg is down to how heavy your right foot is. Hard acceleration will cane it.

G

·
I've had my CHR for a year now. I average around 54mpg...that's calculated the long-winded way, not by using on-board stats. I very occasionally use air-con (living in Scotland it's not needed that often!) and very occasionally switch into sports mode. However, 95% of my driving is rural roads using "normal" mode. As Wasp28 writes, the cold weather has an impact on mpg so recently it's dipped a bit. The car is also about to go for its first service, so that may make a difference too.

·
Registered
521 Posts