Toyota C-HR Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all I'm a new CHr driver and love it but I'm not sure I'm driving it as efficiently as I should. I've never had a hybrid so I suspect there's knack to it? I don't think I'm getting the mpg I should. I put £20 in and that did about 100 miles. Should it be more? Any advice?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Over the course of 12 months, mine averages 66 mpg (Using the on board gauge, but I don't know how accurate it is, I've never tested it) Currently I am getting 70mpg, but it's warm weather. It drops to 54 or thereabouts in the colder parts of the year. I'm doing 19/20 miles a day for five days a week and rarely using at weekend and it's costing £20 a fortnight. I'm not heavy footed on the accelerator and don't hammer it. I'm on a 1.8 automatic. Simple little things like not keeping your foot down all the time, letting it coast down hills, (As opposed to having it drive downhill with your foot down) to build up charge in the driving batteries, as long as you're sticking to the speed limit you don't necessarily need a heavy foot on the accelerator.
What did you get? Auto or manual? What colur?

·
Registered
6 Posts
When you switch off you will see the average mpg that you've used. It should be over 50 in normal use. Make sure that your gear is in D. If you're mistakenly in B you won't get the benefit of EV.

·
Registered
441 Posts
If you have your climate control on, heated seats, lights and the like, it will reduce your mpg.
Turn off climate control if you don't need it - it does make a difference, especially in the colder months.

·
Registered
277 Posts
kirstywurst said:
I'm only averaging 58 ooh… not sure what I'm doing wrong….
58 means 4.8l/100km. According to Google for British gallon.
(Can't say how much I hate we have different measurements for the same shit!)
That's not bad my all means! You're not doing anything wrong!